Search found 89 matches

by donglewwe
Sat Jun 09, 2018 8:59 pm
Forum: Chain of Command
Topic: Support for Campaign Game
Replies: 19
Views: 8205

Re: Support for Campaign Game

FWIW, the German paid a point to keep the roadblock, kept the Pak40, and got himself an FO for a mortar section (which had to be diced for, so it wasn't a sure thing, a iffy for more than a volley). The Pak40 wasn't deployed, and the roadblock just made the American choose an engineer team...which g...
by donglewwe
Thu Jun 07, 2018 9:46 pm
Forum: Chain of Command
Topic: Support for Campaign Game
Replies: 19
Views: 8205

Re: Support for Campaign Game

Why is the AT gun there whether the Germans want it or not? It's not a stationary emplacement. There are no special rules from the campaign that apply to it. It's a gun on a carriage like any other. There's nothing stopping the Germans from hitching it up to an Opel and towing it off down the road ...
by donglewwe
Thu Jun 07, 2018 8:54 pm
Forum: Chain of Command
Topic: Support for Campaign Game
Replies: 19
Views: 8205

Re: Support for Campaign Game

It can be reused on the same map if you win and if you want to pay the points again. Yes I would deduct points for the roadblock if you wanted it to remain. The problem there is with the 'ifs' - there are no 'if's' open to the German player beyond the use of the sniper: Both the roadblock and AT gu...
by donglewwe
Thu Jun 07, 2018 8:41 pm
Forum: Chain of Command
Topic: Support for Campaign Game
Replies: 19
Views: 8205

Re: Support for Campaign Game

You would have to pay the points for the pK40 again if you wanted to use it again. The same then, I assume, goes for the roadblock, since neither can move off the battlefieid? I want to reiterate that I'm not looking for some sort of min-max nitpick of the rules. The German player raised the point,...
by donglewwe
Thu Jun 07, 2018 7:11 pm
Forum: Chain of Command
Topic: Support for Campaign Game
Replies: 19
Views: 8205

Re: Support for Campaign Game

Where a support option is shown in red (which the Pak-38 is)... Okay, but this is the list seven Pak40. Point taken, but... If a new twelve points were to be available (which I find hard to rationalize) the German player could get another Pak40. To be honest, my 'common sense' meter breaks at the t...
by donglewwe
Thu Jun 07, 2018 5:43 pm
Forum: Chain of Command
Topic: Support for Campaign Game
Replies: 19
Views: 8205

Re: Support for Campaign Game

In general support does not carry over. I agree - but the specifics of the scenario lend more than a bit of 'not so much' in this case, imo. If they spanked the Americans their core platoon is likely to be within a few casualties of full strength at this point. Yup. 2 KIA (vs 13 US), 2 on the mend,...
by donglewwe
Thu Jun 07, 2018 4:41 pm
Forum: Chain of Command
Topic: Support for Campaign Game
Replies: 19
Views: 8205

Support for Campaign Game

I'm doing '29 Let's Go!' (seemed like a good time of year for it...) and the Germans spanked the Americans in the first game. In the second game (defending the same ground) the Germans are to receive the same amount of support points - Is that in addition to what they chose for the first game? The u...
by donglewwe
Wed May 23, 2018 2:11 pm
Forum: What a Tanker!
Topic: Hell Driving!
Replies: 30
Views: 15095

Re: Hell Driving!

"If they are an extension of the AIM action..." My two cents (which may vary based on the definition of 'cents'): To whom does the benefit apply? The gunner who reports 'on target' or the gunner who reports 'on target-and-I've-got-a-really-good-lock-on-him-that-amounts-to-a-+2 shot'. I'm inclined t...
by donglewwe
Fri May 18, 2018 5:57 pm
Forum: What a Tanker!
Topic: Hull down
Replies: 8
Views: 4991

Re: Hull down

Off-the-cuff idea: I put down a few pieces of florist wire to represent undulations. If a tank/LOS is within 4" (similar to the wooded area rule) of one of those wires, it counts as a minor obstacle (-1) for both. If a tank is adjacent to one of those markers, then it is treated as a similar terrain...